Its all about the Toner!

I am appalled at myself for only beginning my toning / exfoliating journey so recently! Now, I genuinely cringe at the thought of not having any!

I have been hounding Caroline Hirons’ blog to make sure I get the right ones. I hate wasting money on products that don’t work. I am the person that reads constant reviews on something before I buy it and when I don’t, goodness gracious me – I regret it!! But that’s a whole different post!

Anyone who reads Caroline’s blog will know about P50. I didn’t have a clue what it was until I read her blog. It was incredibly difficult to get my hands on in Dubai but… dum dum dummmmm

photo 35 photo 36 photo 38

P50 BIOLOGIQUE RECHERCHE. I found it. It cost me a small fortune and I felt guilty about buying it for about a month — but I really do love this so much !!

It is an exfoliating toner. I have always hated the idea of scrubbing away at my face. But this promises to get rid of congestion, clear pores and brighten your skin. It really does do that. Every AM and PM I would swipe this over my face on a cotton pad after cleansing. It can have a slight tingle to it, but nothing alarming. Just makes me aware it is actually doing something to my skin! I hear that the 1970 version of this is no longer sold in Europe, but can still be bought in the US. It apparently is a far superior formula and I am definitely going to try and get my hands on it!!!

As I was nearing the end of this bottle, I saw on Caroline’s blog that she recommends the Clarins exfoliating toner also. I looked into it and saw it was much cheaper than the P50. I figured that I would give it a go, as if it does a similar job and can save me some money — well, that would be bloody fabulous!!

I headed to Sephora in Dubai Mall once my bottle of P50 would provide me no more and picked up

photo 31 photo 32

CLARINS GENTLE EXFOLIATING BRIGHTENING TONER. This is a great substitute to the P50. It really has helped keep my breakouts at a minimum, keeping congestion reduced and pores are smaller. I don’t get the tingle when I use this, but I do feel it is doing something. I am on my 3rd bottle. After my first one ran out I didn’t repurchase straight away. Stupidly. I ended up with a nasty breakout and ran to the store to buy another bottle hiding my spotty face. I really like this toner and have a slight panic now when I see I am nearing the end of the bottle!

Caroline says to follow up with a hydrating toner. For this I have been using the

photo 26 photo 27

LUSH EAU ROMA WATER. This is a nice and refreshing toner containing lavender. I find it soothing and hydrating. No complaints with it except the squirty nozzle is quite harsh when spraying directly onto your face. I started to spray onto a cotton wool pad and apply that way.

As a PM only I use

photo 20

ALPHA H LIQUID GOLD. This is a 3 times a week maximum application. I found myself using this a lot when my face was at its worst. I have cut down on this dramatically now. One reason is because I am running out of it and must repurchase. I love it and would hate to not have it in my routine!! It exfoliates your skin through the night for you. You apply it after your cleanse and add nothing else to your face. Just let it do its job. Which it does VERY well! When I wake up I usually have a lovely glow to my skin and it feels super soft!

The combination of a good cleansing routine and a good toning regime makes for lovely, clear, soft, congestion free skin. Mine has seen a humongous improvement by making these simple changes!

I am desperate to try the PIXI GLOW TONIC and have a friend visiting me in September, who is coming armed with a bottle. I will of course, be updating you with my thoughts on that. So excited to try it!

Tomorrow I will talk about the Serums I am using and how I have found them!

What Toners do you recommend guys?

p50 biologique recherché can be picked up from Liberties in London. I got mine in Dubai from Embassy of Beauty – http://www.embassybeautydubai.com/

Clarins Exfoliating Toner can be bought from any Clarins stand. It is widely available world wide.

I got my Liquid Gold from bathandunwind.com/. They deliver internationally.

The Lush toner can be purchased in any Lush store or on their website, https://www.lush.ae/

About amodelintheknow

I am 28 year old ex model from the UK, living in Dubai. I would like to share my experience, thoughts and opinions on all things beauty, skincare, hair care and lifestyle related. I would love for your thoughts and opinions too !!
This entry was posted in alpha h, beauty, beauty blogger, biologique recherche, blogger, caroline hirons, clarins, cleanser, coal face, dubai, dubai mall, expat, fashion, hair care, liquid gold, lush, makeup, p50, p50 biologique recherche, pixi, pixi glow tonic, skincare, uae and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Its all about the Toner!

  1. Pingback: Pixi Glow Tonic: First Impressions and Friends Visiting Dubai! | amodelintheknow

  2. Celeste says:

    Hi
    I’m curious where you managed to find P50 and the price if you don’t mind 🙈
    Also do you find the Clarins toner as good? If money was no object which would you buy? I’ d like to get P50 but am wondering if the effects are much better than the Clarins to justify the price.
    Thanks

    Like

    • Happy New Year Celeste !
      In Dubai I found the P50 at Embassy of Beauty and Zabeel Ladies Club Spa. It can be picked up online from http://efmedispa.com/ and from a number of Spa’s throughout the usa. Depending on the size of bottle you get, It is approximately 250-550 AED in Dubai or 50 GBP for the medium size bottle in the UK.
      p50 is my absolute favourite. It has the oomph. Clarins and Pixi are good, and I do like to use them, but P50 is certainly the best.
      Skin is smoother, calmer, balanced and clear. I love it and all of my friends who I have had try it, love it too.
      Hope this helps a little 😉 Update me with your decision !!

      Have a great day
      Kel x

      Like

  3. Celeste says:

    Thanks for the quick reply, I really appreciate it 🙂
    Happy New Years to you too! I think I will try and get my hands on the P50 (with all the good things people say about it I think I’ll have to try it).
    But your Clarins recommendation is good too..so will maybe buy both and alternate?
    Thanks again!

    Like

    • Alternating is definitely beneficial. I do this with serums and oils too, depending on how my skin feels that day. Clarins is not as strong, perhaps using Clarins in the morning and p50 in the evening? Both of them are fabulous products and I think you will love them !!
      Have a lovely day.

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂
      Kel x

      Like

Leave a Reply

