Homemade Tinted Lip Balm!

We all know that frustration of having your favourite eye shadow, blusher, bronzer or powder turn into a crumbled mess. Whether you knocked it off the counter or it happened in transit, it is completely devastating when it happens.

My last two happened in my suitcase whilst travelling to the UK. My makeup bag was covered in powder. I had to run to the sink and wash everything down, putting my ruined makeup into a separate bag.

10629674_10152339636598067_7323439427593137779_n 10653585_10152339637153067_8745838841899764687_n

My beautiful Dior highlighter brick. I used it for so many things. Eye shadow, highlighter on the top of the cheekbones, cupids bow, on my lips… It is now in a gazillion pieces.

And my Illamasqua Blusher. I loved it. Gave me a nice flush of colour that suited my skin tine perfectly.

Sigh*

I needed to do something with them. So I decided to make a lip balm, turning them into lip tints.

I started with my Dior, as it was a lovely neutral shade.

1610788_10152323842903067_6056407756696470586_n

I took a spoon of Vaseline with cocoa butter and added some of the crumbs from my Dior container. Using a popsicle stick I blended them together until I saw there were no lumps or bumps.

One trick is to do this in a little pot and then put it in the microwave for a few seconds to melt it down. Then pour it into the container and secure the lid. Leave it in the fridge for a little while to set.

On this occasion I wanted mine to be a bit more creamy, so I put it straight into the container after mixing the ingredients.

It is lovely on its own or on top of a lipstick. It adds a gorgeous colour and shimmer to your lips!

 

You really should give it a go. You don’t have to use crumbled makeup, it can be done with pigments too!

 

 

About amodelintheknow

I am 28 year old ex model from the UK, living in Dubai. I would like to share my experience, thoughts and opinions on all things beauty, skincare, hair care and lifestyle related. I would love for your thoughts and opinions too !!
This entry was posted in 100happydays, award, beauty, beauty blogger, birthday gifts, blogger, blogger award, diy, dubai, expat, face treatment, facemasks, fashion, gifts, handmade, homemade, homemade lip balm, keepsakes, lip balm, makeup, presents, skincare, treatment, uae, vaseline and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

