Coconut Oil > My One True Love!

I have mentioned before in my blog, my love for Coconut oil. Since discovering it a year ago, we have had a strong relationship ever since! I thought today I would talk a little on the benefits of using it and explain exactly how I use it each day.

organic-larder-coconut-oil-350_001

Coconut Oil- Composition

Saturated Fats: Predominantly, these saturated fats are medium chain fatty acids or triglycerides. When applied on the skin, they keep it smooth to the touch. Due to the presence of these fats, coconut oil also retains the moisture content of the skin, as the fats eliminate moisture loss through the pores on skin. When ingested through the regular consumption of coconut oil, these fats deposit under the skin, thus keeping it healthy and smooth, giving it an even tone and reducing the appearance of the pores.

Capric /Caprylic/Lauric acid: These are not very different from the medium chain fatty acids, but it is still important to mention them separately here, since they have their own contributions. These three fatty acids have strong disinfectant and antimicrobial properties. As a result, when applied on the skin, coconut oil protects from microbial infections that can get into open wounds or even enter the body through the pores. This microbial action can be experienced even if coconut oil is taken internally, as the fatty acids boost the immunity when converted to monocaprins and monolaurins.

Furthermore, capric, caprylic, and lauric acids are easily broken down chains of fatty acids, meaning that they contribute to usable energy in a quick and efficient way. This can be a major boost to your energy levels before a workout, which is why these powerful acids have also been linked to weight loss and management. Losing weight is a good way to improve the quality of your skin by reducing excess fat, stretch marks, and folds in the skin which can be unattractive. Having a healthy, toned body means that the skin maintains its tight grip around the muscles and bones.

Vitamin-E: The contributions of vitamin-E towards skin care are well known. It is essential for healthy skin growth, repair of wear & tear on the skin, keeping skin smooth and protecting against cracking. Above all, it prevents premature aging and wrinkling of the skin, since it has good antioxidant properties. 100 grams of coconut oil has about 0.1 mg of vitamin E, thus enhancing it skin-nourishing properties.

Anti-Aging Cream: Traditionally, coconut oil has been praised and popularized for its anti-aging properties.

Proteins: Like coconuts themselves, coconut oil is rich in many proteins. These proteins keep skin healthy and rejuvenated, both internally and externally. Proteins also contribute to cellular health and tissue repair, along with a wide range of other essential activities within the body. For any damaged cells on or near the skin, a healthy of flow of proteins guarantees their replacement at a normal rate, whereas people with protein-deficient diets heal slower and often develop more obvious scars due to the extended healing time.

The best property of coconut oil that makes it so beneficial for skin is that it does not become rancid. When you apply it on the skin, it can work for a longer time, unlike many other oils, without it getting rancid. Due to these various beneficial properties of coconut oil, it is used as an important ingredient in several skin care creams.

How I use it

REMOVING MAKEUP. I take a small amount of the coconut oil and massage it into my dry face of makeup. I take it over my eyes, lips and work it in using circular motions. It removes my makeup, including mascara, like a dream. I then rinse it off using my hands to get rid of a majority of the grime. Then I take a wash cloth and make certain no oily residue is left on my face.

It works just as a balm would, to remove all of your makeup. It does amazing things to your skin too. Plus, it is much cheaper than any good cleansing balm!

Remember, removing your makeup is not cleansing your skin. You need to remove your makeup, THEN cleanse your skin with a good cleanser! Try to avoid foaming cleansers!

MOISTURISER. I rub a small amount of the coconut oil all over my skin. It works as a marvellous moisturiser and is incredibly nourishing for the skin. It absorbs very quickly, so be careful not to use more than you actually need, otherwise your skin will be left feeling a little oily. It melts into the skin!

It is also brilliant for cracked feet, dry elbows and hands!

BODY EXFOLIANT. If you mix a little coconut oil with salt of coarse brown sugar, it creates a brilliant exfoliant for the body. It is also good as a foot scrub!

HAIR MASK. I like to use this on weekends as a hair mask. I will apply it to the length of my hair and tie it up. If you are able, put a shower cap on and heat it up with a hairdryer, this will help the oil penetrate the hair. I will leave it on for a minimum of an hour, longer if possible. I then shampoo my hair twice and condition. My hair feels soft for days!

You can also apply a tiny bit onto your hair as a serum to help with frizz or flyaway hairs!

LIPS. I like to put a little coconut oil on my lips before bed every night. I suffer from dry and sore lips, usually caused my weather and AC. This helps to heal my lips, whilst keeping them soft and healthy! It beats any lip balms I have used, and I really have tried them all!

SKIN DISORDERS. It is claimed that coconut oil is good for several skin disorders such as acne, psoriasis, and eczema. Much of the research that is there speaks to its protein content, since the replacement of sick or dying cells that can occur with various skin disorders, are quickly replaced by new, healthy cells. In this way, coconut oil not only treats the infection by battling the microbial bodies, they also heal the damage or the visible marks of that skin disorder; it is a two-in-one solution!

There are many other ways to use coconut oil, but these are just my own personal favourites!! It is a wonder product!!

It is also a wonderful alternative for baby oil. Johnsons and Johnsons baby oil is packed with Mineral Oils, which I steer clear from! I wouldn’t put it on my skin, and most definitely not on my babies. Coconut oil is so amazing for babies too. It even helps with nappy rash, cradle cap and thrush!!

About amodelintheknow

I am 28 year old ex model from the UK, living in Dubai. I would like to share my experience, thoughts and opinions on all things beauty, skincare, hair care and lifestyle related. I would love for your thoughts and opinions too !!
This entry was posted in acne, baby oil, beauty, beauty blogger, bespoke, blemish control, blogger, cleanser, cleansing routine, coconut oil, dubai, dubai blogger, evening routine, expat, face treatment, facemasks, hair care, hair mask, haircare, handmade, healthy, homemade, homemade lip balm, lip balm, lip scrub, moisturiser, nappy rash, natural, newbie, oil, oily, skin treatment, skincare, uae and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

