Storing Skin Care Products

I can’t tell you how many products I have bought and had to throw away a few months later, all because I didn’t store them correctly. I would always leave my skincare products in my bathroom. Cleansers, toners, moisturisers, everything! Little did I know that the hot, wet, humid environment was completely destroying my wonderful products. I even had toners completely change colour!

If you buy a skincare product packaged in a jar, as soon as you open it up it is exposed to the air, which can lead to contamination.  And as soon as you stick your fingers into the jar to use the product –  more contamination.  So what is the best way to store and protect your skincare products?

  • Keep your products out of the direct sunlight.  Sunlight degrades active ingredients in skincare products so make sure your products aren’t exposed to the light.
  • Keep products out of a hot, moist, and humid environment.  Now this is the hard one since the most convenient place to keep skincare products and make-up is in the bathroom which is a hot, moist, and humid environment (at least for part of the day when you shower and immediately after your shower).  Yet both heat and humidity can degrade products.  Keep your products in a cooler place like a drawer or cupboard.
  • Make sure you don’t introduce water into your products.  When water is introduced into a skincare product the product becomes contaminated.  That is why jar packaging is a problem.  Pumps and air tight containers are the best vessels for skincare products.

I have all of my skincare products in my bedroom. My coconut oil is decanted into a small jar and stored in a linen closet on route to my bathroom. My other cleansers are stored in my bathroom, as they are Lush products and stored well. https://amodelintheknow.wordpress.com/2014/09/15/storage-for-your-lush-soaps/

In my bedroom I have all products I use daily sitting on my bedroom vanity cabinet. There is no sunlight hitting the area so it works perfectly. All other products are stored in my large, top drawer in the vanity.

Once you make the change from having everything in your bathroom, it really is quite easy and I actually much prefer doing my routine in my bedroom. Plus, knowing everything will last longer is fabulous! Who wants to be using something that isn’t working anymore?

About amodelintheknow

I am 28 year old ex model from the UK, living in Dubai. I would like to share my experience, thoughts and opinions on all things beauty, skincare, hair care and lifestyle related. I would love for your thoughts and opinions too !!
This entry was posted in bathroom storage, beauty, beauty blogger, beauty storage, bedroom storage, blogger, cabinet, dubai, dubai blogger, evening routine, humidity, skincare, skincare routine, skincare storage, storage, temperature, uae, vanity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Storing Skin Care Products

  1. iamserenel says:

    Thanks for the excellent storing tips 🙂

    Serene

    xoxoxo

    http://www.imserenel.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Jessica says:

    Love your advice! I keep everything except my makeup remover and cleanser in a unit under my sink, it saves loads of space and means nothing is in contact with direct sunlight! X

    Like

  3. marry says:

    I loved your article, this is really good information.
    Thank you so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

