Its not just what you put on your skin: The Humble Chia Seed!

Many of you will find this odd, but I have a phobia of Sea food. It has always been a problem, ever since I was a child. Cannot eat it, look at it, smell it… eurgh, my palms are getting clammy at the thought!!!

Since meeting my partner, I have gotten a little better. Mainly because he would find it so annoying that I would bypass a whole section of the supermarket, or dart passed the aquarium in the mall, or shake if someone at our table would order seafood… He made me go into intensive training. Really! We bought tickets to go through the aquarium tunnel in Dubai Mall!!

17596-tIF1z

I cant tell you how absolutely awful it was. I honestly wanted to cry and run. But I did it. I hated every moment, but I did it. I will now walk passed the aquarium instead of run… but still won’t look at it. I will not sit at a different table if someone orders seafood… but I certainly don’t feel comfortable and probably won’t eat all of my food.

It has this completely bizarre hold over me. So, it is safe to say, my omega levels have always been on the low side! I do not care if the omega capsule is ‘orange’ flavoured. I still know what it is!

I was then told, by a lovely friend of mine, about Chia seeds. Never heard of them. No idea what they were. She told me that they were a teeny tiny seed, entirely flavourless and very versatile. She said they were incredibly high in Omega 3 fatty acids, even more so than Flax seeds! And it has another advantage over flax: chia is so rich in antioxidants that the seeds don’t deteriorate and can be stored for long periods without becoming rancid. And, unlike flax, they do not have to be ground to make their nutrients available to the body. Chia seeds also provide fibre (25 grams give you 6.9 grams of fibre) as well as calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, manganese, copper, iron, molybdenum, niacin, and zinc.

HB094472_R_H200W000

When added to water and allowed to sit for 30 minutes, chia forms a gel. Researchers suggest that this reaction also takes place in the stomach, slowing the process by which digestive enzymes break down carbohydrates and convert them into sugar.

The seeds themselves taste rather bland, so you can add them to pretty much anything. They also don’t need to be ground like flax seeds, which makes them much easier to prepare. They can be eaten raw, soaked in juice or water, added to porridges and puddings or added to baked goods. You can also sprinkle them on top of cereal, yogurt, vegetables or rice dishes…. I add a spoonful to my porridge every morning!

Chia-seeds

A 1 ounce (28 grams) serving of chia seeds contains:

◦Fibre: 11 grams.

◦Protein: 4 grams.

◦Fat: 9 grams (5 of which are Omega-3s).

◦Calcium: 18 % of the RDA.

◦Manganese: 30 % of the RDA.

◦Magnesium: 30 % of the RDA.

◦Phosphorus: 27 % of the RDA.

◦They also contain a decent amount of Zinc, Vitamin B3 (Niacin), Potassium, Vitamin B1 (Thiamine) and Vitamin B2.

Bottom Line: Despite their tiny size, chia seeds are among the most nutritious foods on the planet. They are loaded with fibre, protein, Omega-3 fatty acids and various micronutrients. Chia seeds are high in antioxidants that help to protect the delicate fats in the seeds. They also have various benefits for health.Almost all of the carbohydrates in chia seeds are fibre. This gives them the ability to absorb 10-12 times their weight in water. Fibre also has various beneficial effects on health. Chia seeds are high in quality protein, much higher than most plant foods. Protein is the most weight loss friendly macronutrient and can drastically reduce appetite and cravings.Chia seeds are high in calcium, magnesium, phosphorus and protein. All of these nutrients are essential for bone health. A study in type 2 diabetics showed that chia seeds can significantly lower blood pressure and a marker for inflammation.

Pick some up from your supermarket or health food store!! They are an amazing addition to your lifestyle with humongous benefits!!

About amodelintheknow

I am 28 year old ex model from the UK, living in Dubai. I would like to share my experience, thoughts and opinions on all things beauty, skincare, hair care and lifestyle related. I would love for your thoughts and opinions too !!
This entry was posted in beauty, beauty blogger, blogger, chia, chia seeds, dubai, dubai blogger, evening routine, expat, food, healthy, healthy eating, morning routine, natural, recipe, seeds, skincare, uae, wholefoods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

