It’s not just what you put on your skin: Dinner

By now you all know I like to eat carefully. I don’t diet and never will. Nor do I deprive myself of anything. I just try to steer clear of things we all know full well, are very bad for us.

One meal I like to make around this time of year is Chilli Con Carne. It is comforting during cold weather, very simple, one pot, freezable *bonus* and isn’t packed with anything bad.

So here is the recipe for my Chilli. Give it a try. I like to portion it out into containers or freezer bags with enough for two people – it usually gives us four or five meals!!

  • One packet of lean, low fat minced beef
  • I can of kidney beans
  • One can of chopped tomatoes
  • 250ml of beef stock
  • 100ml of red wine
  • 1 tea spoon of cumin
  • 1 tea spoon of paprika
  • 1 tea spoon of chili powder
  • Half a tea spoon of cinnamon
  • 3 hot chilies, 1 deseeded and diced, 2 halved
  • Four squares of Lidnt dark chocolate (anything 80% or more)
  • One punnet of cherry / plum tomatoes
  • Mixed peppers (one each of red, yellow, green and orange)
  • 1 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 table spoon of tomato paste

*the amount of chili I have suggested is enough for a medium, comfortable heat. If you like yours extra spicy, add more for your taste.*

*wine is easily substituted with beef stock if you would rather not use it!*

IMG_2385

First, prepare your ingredients.

Chop your peppers into strips, and then halves

IMG_2390

Cut your tomatoes into halves or quarters depending on how big they are. Then chop two of the chilies into halves and dice one, seeds removed.

IMG_2395

Crush or dice your garlic. I seem to have lost my garlic crusher int he move, so I diced mine small.

IMG_2399

Then dice your onion!

IMG_2410

Fry off the beef until it is browned and then add the onion until slightly softened.

IMG_2414 IMG_2415

Add all of the veg, including garlic. Leave for a couple of minutes.

IMG_2418

Add the spices and tomato paste and stir through well. Leave for a few minutes.

IMG_2419

Pour in the chopped tomatoes and stir through.

IMG_2420

Add the stock, wine and chocolate.

IMG_2425

IMG_2427

Leave to simmer until it slightly thickens. Add the kidney beans and allow to simmer further until you are happy with the consistency.

IMG_2428 IMG_2432 IMG_2434

I like to serve this a number of ways. With rice, baked potatoes, wraps, pita bread, nacho’s…

It pairs perfectly with sour cream, cheese, guacamole or even just an avocado!

I made it to freeze for evening meals – I got 5 meals out of this batch. It freezes amazingly well. Take it out of the freezer before work and it will be defrosted ready for dinner. Just heat on the hob! Easy Peasy !

Enjoy!!

Let me know if you make it !! 🙂

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

About amodelintheknow

I am 28 year old ex model from the UK, living in Dubai. I would like to share my experience, thoughts and opinions on all things beauty, skincare, hair care and lifestyle related. I would love for your thoughts and opinions too !!
This entry was posted in acne, beauty, beauty blog, beauty blogger, beauty tips, blemish, blemish control, dinner, dinner idea, dubai, dubai blogger, emal idea, expat, food, fresh, healthy, idea, meal, new, organic, recipe, recipe idea, review, skincare, skincare blog, skincare routine, uae, whatsfordinner and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s not just what you put on your skin: Dinner

  1. Shaye says:

    This was absolutely delish! Thanks for the lush recipe. I have a portion waiting for me in the fridge for this evening’s meal, and a whole load more in the freezer for later on this week. I’m keen to try your puff pastry lunch recipe next ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

