Skinoren: Early Days!

It is no secret that my once normal face became oily and disgusting once I moved from the UK to Dubai. I tried so many different products, most helped in some way… but the oil by 12pm each day was consistent.

I read Caroline Hirons blog and took all of her advice on mastering a routine that would help. I am glad I did, as overall, my face is better off for it… but I still have a glow by lunch time.. not the ‘you look lovely, you’re glowing’ type. More the, I just want to wash my face, type!

It really got me down a few nights ago and that was the tipping point for me. I went out for a friends birthday. I did my makeup at 6pm and by 9pm, I was so shiny I just wanted to go home. I decided enough was enough. My skin is in a good condition. It is well looked after to the point where I am obsessive. But now, I need to find something to banish the shine for good, before I turn into an anti social, shiny loner !

I popped into the pharmacy and explained my problem, with a brief overview of my skin story. The pharmacist recommended I try Skinoren first. She said that if that doesn’t work, there are other stronger products to try, but this one is the lightest treatment they have, to start me off on.

IMG_2307 IMG_2308

As I don’t have acne, I didn’t want anything too strong, so I was happy to try this one first!

The lady advised that I apply a small amount before bed and before I apply makeup. So that evening, I read up on the product to see what others thought. I then quickly realised that most people using this, use it because of acne, so it was hard for me to judge.

After I cleansed, I applied my toner and then a very small amount of the product. I had read that some people feel a burning sensation or wake up to a rash… so I was nervous. I felt nothing. No irritation whatsoever. Brilliant! The next morning, my face looked less oily and healthier.

I applied it again before my makeup and noticed that my makeup sat brilliantly on top. I had a lot to do that day, running around outside and going to meetings… only on the way home did I feel the need to blot. When I did, there was barely any oil at all. Result!!

I have only used this for a couple of days now. So far it is really working well and I have noticed a real reduction in shine. I will of course, continue to use this daily and report back with a thorough review. But for now, I am glad I tried it!!

About amodelintheknow

I am 28 year old ex model from the UK, living in Dubai. I would like to share my experience, thoughts and opinions on all things beauty, skincare, hair care and lifestyle related. I would love for your thoughts and opinions too !!
This entry was posted in acne, beauty, beauty blog, beauty blogger, beauty tips, dubai, dubai blogger, dubai mall, exfoliant, expat, face treatment, oil, oily, oily skin, review, shine control, skincare, skincare blog, skincare routine, skincare tips, skinoren, spot treatment, spots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Skinoren: Early Days!

  1. Eden Varin says:

    Thanks for this review. I am oily on my T-zone. I’ll check this product later in the mall. Do I need to put this cream all over my face or just in the oily part?

    Like

  2. edenvarin says:

    Bought this already and been using for 7 days now..I can say that it is nice..with matte finish..little amount goes a long way. thanks for sharing this..I hope my oily T-zone concern will soon be gone. 🙂

    Like

  3. Bee says:

    Hi. I know it has been a while since you posted this but did you need a prescription for the skinoren cream in dubai? This is because I will be coming from the UK to dubai as well and I am already using the cream but I don’t want to run out of it while there then not have an option of where to get it

    Like

Leave a Reply

