Its not just what you put on your skin: Dinner

With the weather getting colder, comfort food is a must! Here is a recipe for a ridiculously easy pie! This is my absolute idea of comfort food!!

Chicken and Mushroom Pie

You will need:

  • The chicken breasts of a roast chicken. I used one already roasted from the supermarket. Leftovers are ideal too!
  • Mushrooms, I used chestnut but you can opt for your favourite!
  • Bacon pieces (optional)
  • Thyme either dry or fresh
  • 400 ml of chicken stock
  • 200 ml of milk
  • Pepper
  • Ready rolled shortcrust pastry – thawed
  • 1 onion
  • 2 Table spoons of plain flour
  • Pie dish

Start by dicing your onion and chopping your mushrooms

IMG_2454

Don’t chop the mushrooms too small. Allow them to keep the shape and texture as much as possible. Look at these beautiful mushrooms, I hate to see them destroyed.

IMG_2452

If you are adding bacon, now is the time to chop it and fry it in a skillet with a little oil on a medium – high heat. I usually add bacon but I didn’t have any in, so opted to leave it out this time. Once you have almost cooked it completely, add the onion, thyme and mushrooms.

IMG_2458

Once the bacon is completely cooked and the onion and mushrooms have slightly softened, add the flour and stir well to make sure it is all combined. Add the stock slowly, stirring continually. Now add the milk and leave for a couple of minutes, stirring often.

Now add the chicken and stir through.

IMG_2460

Once it is a nice consistency, not too thick or too watery, turn the heat off and set aside.

Prepare the pastry

IMG_2456 (1)

Insert the filling and place the top on, piercing a couple of holes in the middle

IMG_2461

I decided to have my pie with sweet potato, so at this point I chopped up a sweet potato and tossed it through with oil, cinnamon and salt. I placed it in the oven for 30 minutes.

IMG_2462

I baked the pie for 25 minutes!

IMG_2464 IMG_2465 IMG_2466

You can of course, serve this pie with a number of different side dishes. Mash is one of my favourites 🙂

Let me know if you make it, and what you think 🙂

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

About amodelintheknow

I am 28 year old ex model from the UK, living in Dubai. I would like to share my experience, thoughts and opinions on all things beauty, skincare, hair care and lifestyle related. I would love for your thoughts and opinions too !!
This entry was posted in beauty, beauty blog, beauty blogger, beauty tips, bespoke, chicken pie, comfortfood, dinner, dubai, dubai blogger, expat, food, healthy, meal tips, meals, organic, pie, recipe, recipe tips, review, skincare, skincare blog, skincare routine, uae, whatsfordinner and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

